jump to navigation

Letters October 24, 2009

Posted by Ronica Stromberg in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I presented at a Lutheran school in Kansas City this past weekend and at the Young Writers’ Conference in Liberty, Missouri. In the last part of my workshops, the students wrote letters.

Just before I left the Liberty conference, a fifth-grade boy ran up to me and handed me a folded piece of paper. It was a letter:

Dear Ms. Stromberg:

Thanks for the wonderful day. You did some wonderful work on your book.

Sincerely,

[student’s name]

P.S. You are an excellent writer.

Naturally, I choked up. I had been paid one of the highest compliments a children’s author can receive:  a writing child.

I do get letters. I’m relieved that most of it now comes as e-mails instead of snail mails. Teachers used to organize snail-mail efforts in which all the children in their classes wrote favorite authors. For me, a postage stamp cost more than the royalty I received from a book, so every letter I answered set me further back financially. Thank goodness for e-mail!

My stories in Chicken Soup for the Soul books have drawn teens to e-mail me from around the world. I received several from Japan and even one from an Arab country. I’ve answered every letter except one from a prisoner. As a writer, I’m sometimes amazed where my words turn up!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

