jump to navigation

Magazine Story April 19, 2010

Posted by Ronica Stromberg in Uncategorized.
trackback

I received a copy of my latest story published in Encounter teen magazine today. I’ve written for children’s magazines for years, and every time I see one of my stories in print, I experience the same rush of excitement. It never gets old.

Writing for children’s magazines continues to grow increasingly challenging as more print publications shut their doors. Writers for children’s magazines also face the challenge of providing accurate information while protecting the identity and safety of minors. When I started writing for magazines, most still published the full name and location of children interviewed. Not so any more.

I like to add a measure of safety by including parents in the room whenever I interview a child. I also secure their written permission for photographs used.

Probably my biggest challenge, though, is one most children’s writers have faced for years: finding children with stories to tell. When I do find a child with a story, usually he or she is as happy as I am to see it in print. Joy compounded!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

