jump to navigation

Success as a Working Writer June 6, 2010

Posted by Ronica Stromberg in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Now working full-time in the business world, I can better appreciate writers who write and sell books while holding down full-time jobs. I used to deem writing while staying home with children difficult, but this is even more so.

A group of us writers chatted about this online. One woman had several novels traditionally published while working full-time, homeschooling her children, and volunteering at her church. Talk about multitasking! Another writer asked how she managed to do it all. Her reply? “I only sleep four hours a night.” Guess I can add that to my arsenal of writerly advice:  Just give up sleeping!

I’ve found it possible, though, to achieve a measure of writing success while working full-time and sleeping almost eight hours a night. A major publisher recently requested a rewrite on a picture book I sent them, an agent requested a revision on a different picture book, and Focus on the Family’s Clubhouse magazine purchased a story from me for the Christmas issue. Judging from this, I should have reentered the workforce sooner. 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

