jump to navigation

Proofreading May 20, 2013

Posted by Ronica Stromberg in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

I recently took a full-time position as a proofreader for an accounting firm. Proofreading financial reports differs from the type of proofreading I’ve done in the past, but I’m learning a lot and enjoying it.

Over my writing career, I’ve discovered the importance of remaining flexible to making a living from writing. The writer who has diversified talents is better able to weather changes in the economy and workforce than a one-skill wonder.

Some writers choose to work a full-time job outside the writing field for better financial security. They may find a nonwriting job drains their creativity less than a writing job does, giving them the energy and enthusiasm to write in their spare time.

Proofreading work is a good fit for me because it draws little from my creativity but keeps me current and my writing mechanics sharp.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

