jump to navigation

Writing Quotations, Part V December 11, 2016

Posted by Ronica Stromberg in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

I received the happy news in time for Christmas that I sold another short story. I spent a stretch of months revising it, so this year, as my gift to you, I have collected together quotations about revising and improving your writing. I can really relate to the quotation from Gustave Flaubert. Enjoy!

“One thing that helps is to give myself permission to write badly. I tell myself that I’m going to do my five or 10 pages no matter what, and that I can always tear them up the following morning if I want. I’ll have lost nothing—writing and tearing up five pages would leave me no further behind than if I took the day off.” ~ Lawrence Block

“I am irritated by my own writing. I am like a violinist whose ear is true, but whose fingers refuse to reproduce precisely the sound he hears within.” ~ Gustave Flaubert

“Get it down. Take chances. It may be bad, but it’s the only way you can do anything really good.” ~ William Faulkner

“When your story is ready for rewrite, cut it to the bone. Get rid of every ounce of excess fat. This is going to hurt; revising a story down to the bare essentials is always a little like murdering children, but it must be done.” ~ Stephen King

“The difference between the right word and almost the right word is the difference between “lightning” and “lightning bug.” ~ Mark Twain

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ~ Anton Chekhov

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

